Custom file formats in AS3 using AMF

Posted on September 12, 2009

0


There’s always something interesting going on in the actionscript world of brothers Jacob (jacwright.com) and Tyler Wright (xtyler.com). I’ve been using their Flight Framework (www.flightxd.com) for some time now, and it’s the first of the many flex/as3 frameworks I’ve tried that has really made me more productive. Check it out!

In a recent article, Jacob is pointing out the possibility to use AMF serialization for storing objects to disc, on server, on clipboard or anywhere. The complicated stuff involved in saving more complex objects like bitmaps or sound have scared me away so far from trying it out. (The IExternalizable interface has such a scary name, for example..!) But Jacs article gave me the inspiration to try it, and some quick prototyping has given positive results – including storing arrays containing bitmaps! Thanks, Jac!

Posted in: Actionscript 3